History of our School

Our school has its roots in the Medieval times (1552) and has occupied several sites in the town. The current school was built in 1931 as a Grammar School, and then it was the Lower School for the Tavistock College and was then adapted and refurbished to be a Primary and Nursery School in 1991.

We are the only school in Tavistock to have a Maintained Nursery and so can take pupils from 2-11yrs. We usually have between 350 and 400 pupils. We also have Nursery Plus on our school site (one of ten in Devon).

The school occupies a mature and attractive site bounded by the historic Tavistock canal to the North-West and the River Tavy to the South-East, within walking distance of the town centre via the underpass and through the Meadows. We are on the edge of the centre of Tavistock which is the most attractive bustling market town on the edge of Dartmoor yet only 14 miles from Plymouth.

We offer good facilities with our own hall, library, music room, good ICT facilities including learnpads for the children and 19 interactive whiteboards. There are three playgrounds, a dedicated Nursery play area and an environmental area on site. We make good use of the local environment for educational visits and trips, offering residential experiences in years 4, 5 and 6. Children in year 4 go to Dartmoor Training Centre for 3 days and 2 nights to study the beautiful locality. In year 5 we  take the children to our capital city, London to experience city life and also to visit various museums including the British, Science and Natural History.  Year 6 children complete a week of outdoor adventure activities in the Summer term.